Bruce Weinberg receives 2022 Distinguished Scholar Award

Bruce Weinberg receives 2022 Distinguished Scholar Award
March 7, 2022

Bruce Weinberg, Eric Bryon Fix-Monda Professor in Economics, received the 2022 Distinguished Scholar Award. The award was announced to a surprised Weinberg by senior leadership from the Enterprise for Research, Innovation and Knowledge at a recent College of Arts and Sciences Department of Economics meeting. 

Weinberg has made important contributions to the understanding of how technological change and industrial shifts affect wage inequality, the determinants of life outcomes and behaviors, and the emerging science of creativity and innovation. His pioneering work on innovation has involved developing influential data that sheds new light on how creativity varies over the life cycle, how an individual’s own creativity is affected by the presence of other important innovators, and the economic and societal value of innovation.

It’s no exaggeration to say your scholarship is inspiring and a model for younger scholars. I love the way you go about your business and how much you go above and beyond for the department, college and university. This is very well deserved."
Ryan King dean of social and behavioral sciences and professor of sociology

Weinberg has held visiting scholar positions at Princeton University, Harvard University and Stanford University and has spent extended periods at the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, Hebrew University, the IZA Institute of Labor Economics, London School of Economics and Maastricht University.

I appreciate the honor. What makes doing research fun, isn’t doing it alone in an office. It’s working with other people, faculty, colleagues, postdocs, undergraduates and others. Thank you — I am really touched and appreciate it.”
Bruce Weinberg 2022 Distinguished Scholar Award

Weinberg received a PhD and bachelor’s in economics from the University of Chicago. He is a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) and a research fellow at the IZA Institute of Labor Economics at the University of Bonn in Germany. Weinberg is also an associate editor of the Industrial and Labor Relations Review and The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics.

The Distinguished Scholar Award is among the highest annual honors awarded at Ohio State. The university-level award honors six faculty members who demonstrate scholarly activity, conduct research or creative works, that represent exceptional achievements in their fields and garnered distinction for the university.

Award recipients are nominated by their departments and chosen by a committee of senior faculty, including past award recipients. Distinguished Scholars receive an honorarium and a research grant to be used over the next three years.